county court has jurisdiction up to \$1,000 generally and in some cases up to \$2,500 and has jurisdiction in criminal and probate matters. The courts have no jurisdiction in certain types of personal actions such as libel, slander or breach of promise of marriage.

Small Debts Courts (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 79).—The Small Debts Court Act provides that the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint any stipendiary magistrate, police magistrate or any two justices of the peace to exercise small-debt jurisdiction within the territorial limits for which he or they have been appointed. There are 97 small debts court magistrates. Jurisdiction is limited to \$100 and an appeal lies to the nearest county court judge or Supreme Court judge.

Magistrates and Justices of the Peace (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 195).—Magistrates and justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

## Section 2.—Provincial Governments

In each of the provinces, the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Lieutenant-Governor acts on the advice and with the assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislature of each province, with the exception of Quebec, is now unicameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.

13.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Dates of Admission to Confederation, and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected<sup>1</sup>

Province, Territory or District	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process <sup>2</sup>
Ontario. Quebec. Nova Scotia New Brunswick.	July	1, 1,	1867 1867 1867 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament—The British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867.
Manitoba	July	15,	1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.
British Columbia	July	20,	1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871.
Prince Edward Island	July	1,	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873.
Yukon	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6).
Saskatchewan	Sept.	1,	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42).
Alberta	Sept.	1,	1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3).
Northwest Territories— Mackenzie. Keewatin Franklin.	Jan.	1,	1920 1920 1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918.
Newfoundland	Mar.	31,	1949	Act to approve the Terms of Union of Newfoundland with Canada, 1949 (13 Geo. VI, c. 1).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Table 1, p. 2, for present land and water areas. process see footnotes of Table 11, p. 116, of the 1950 Year Book.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> For further details re legislative